The Great Salt Lake

I know, I know, trite apology for the lack of blogging here, I am really out of the habit. I do occasionally mull around the idea of sharing some new song/artist with the Universe by way of the inter-webs, but rarely does the idea linger past the light-bulb stage. I went to the Band of Horses show this week in Salt Lake City on my birthday. It was sort of my present to myself and I have to say that I am often told that I can pick the right present for a person, and I’m no exception to that guideline (if I do say so myself.) I’ve blogged before about how much I enjoy this band and seeing them live was just great. The group sauntered onto the stage to the classic Joe Walsh tune that was played at my High School quite often. The story goes that when they were attempting to name said school that it was considered calling it ‘Rocky Mountain High,” which is both awesome and horrible all at the same time, but while they didn’t end up naming it after the great John Denver, “Rocky Mountain Way” by Joe Walsh became a bit of an unofficial theme to play at pep rally’s when it was first built, and still was when I was there (along with Thunderstruck by AC/DC, back in my day, as we were the Thunderbirds.)
The band started out the night with the Great Salt Lake and it really got the crowd going singing along in the city that bears the name of the lake, especially when frontman Ben Bridwell paused before singing (along with the crowd) “the Great Salt Lake” and ensuring that the entire audience should sing said something along the lines of “this is the only time we get to play the song tonight.” The set list was really a wise choice from beginning to end, including a cover of J.J. Cale’s Thirteen Days after which Bridwell told the crowd to go listen to more of Cale’s music. I do have to say that the strange song selections began at the encore, I really wouldn’t have guessed that those were the songs they would have played during the show at all, let alone as the encore (apart from Our Swords,) and I would have walked away thinking they had played every great song of theirs I had expected and even wished they’d play – except for the fact that at some point during the encore some guy behind me mentioned the need to hear Detlef Schrempf and only then did I realize what I was missing. Overall it was a great concert and it reminded me how much fun it is to share the experience of great music with others. I was also reminded how old I’m getting and how not fun it is to stand up through two opening acts and then the headliner, I have to remember that the cool kids show up late not just for appearances.

Rocky Mountain Way|Joe Walsh
The Great Salt Lake|Band of Horses
Thirteen Days|J.J. Cale
Detlef Schrempf|Band of Horses

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

1 thought on “The Great Salt Lake”

  1. Glad to see you’re back. I’m glad it was a good birthday. Sounds like fun. I haven’t been to a concert in years, well not that kind anyway.

Leave a Reply

