Son Volt – Drown

Son Volt – Drown

Not sure why I missed this the first time around. I really wasn’t into that this type of sound back in 1995 when the album Trace first came out, but I don’t know that I heard the song to give it a shot or not. Isn’t that a great thing about music though? I mean all the it doesn’t really matter when you’re hearing music for the first time, just that you are actually listening to it for the first time. It may not be the right fit the first time or even second or third, but eventually it grabs you and makes you want to hit your head for not being there for the first time around. Son Volt has a great new album out – American Central Dust, that will possibly be nominated in the new Grammy category of Americana (for those of you who have ever cared about the Grammy’s.) The category does intrigue me and there are some fine contenders amongst the big names – Bob Dylan, John Fogerty, Wilco, and Elvis Costello. USA Today has an interesting article on some of the lesser known artists that have a shot at being nominated for the inaugural category – HERE. They did have the category of Disco for a year, so you never know, it may go away after this year – though the genre seems to be flowing, far from ebbing.

Drown|Son Volt

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

1 thought on “Son Volt – Drown”

  1. I've never heard this song before but it's really good. Thanks for introducing me too it. I'll have to pay more attention to these guys now.

    Glad there's an Americana category!

Leave a Reply

