NPR – All Songs Considered

NPR has a great show – All Songs Considered, but that’s not really news. The show has been great for a long time and it’s a great mix of new indie stuff and whatnot. I enjoy playing the show and listening to new stuff and old stuff I may have missed. It’s always a great little mix. Their newest show is the best of the year (so far), listing the top 20 albums & songs of the first half of 2009. I’ve quite enjoyed listening and adding more songs/albums to my iPod – why did I not know Bon Iver had a new EP out this year? What is this great mix Dark Was The Night? These are the types of things the great show teaches me.

Here are a few of the top 20 songs as voted by listeners to
All Songs Considered
03:Blood Bank|Bon Iver
11:Train Song|Feist & Ben Gibbard
24:I and Love and You|The Avett Brothers

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

2 thoughts on “NPR – All Songs Considered”

  1. This makes wonder if they've decided to do top 20 songs rather than albums this year. But we'll see. 2009 isn't over yet.

    So far my favorite has to be Feist and Ben Gibbard. But this could just be because they sound a bit like Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan. But, still, it's fascinating to see what two artists get together.

    Neko Case's Magpie To the Morning is also gorgeous. No surprise there, though. It's Neko Case.

  2. I agree with Loise—my favorite is Train Song. Feist and Gibbard sound very good together. So much so, in fact, that I'm surprised I haven't heard them sing together before.

Leave a Reply

