Darius "Hootie" Rucker

So he really isn’t Hootie (do people still get that joke in Jerry Maguire?) and the band were not the “Blowfish”, but I do enjoy their music. Hootie & the Blowfish were a step back to just a bunch of normal guys singing normal rock music in the 90’s when not much else was. It was refreshing and as quick as they appeared on the scene and were embraced by the radio – they were kicked to the curb, music had once again moved on. Since his front-man status Darius has put out a couple of good albums; In 2002 he released Back to Then, which has been called a “Celebration of old school Soul”, is one that I’ve enjoyed a few songs from in mixes ever since. Particularly fun is the kick-off track “Wild One”. Then this year, Rucker released a Country album. I enjoy this album also, it’s interesting to hear a voice that I’ve listened too for so long singing such a different genre, he’s really not trying to be twangy or anything, and I think this makes it work. This is what he says about it: “I have always written country songs…for me, this is really just part of the natural evolution of my career. I plan to be doing this for a long time. This isn’t a one album deal – it’s a career thing.”

Back To Then (2002)
Wild One|Darius Rucker
Sometimes I Wonder (With Jill Scott)|Darius Rucker
Learn To Live (2008)
Don’t Think I Don’t Think About It|Darius Rucker
Drinkin’ And Dialin’|Darius Rucker

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

2 thoughts on “Darius "Hootie" Rucker”

  1. I loved Hootie and the Blowfish. We just dusted off the old CD I bought in high school, and I swear I know every word to every song. I’m definitely going to add some of Darius’s music to my Finetune playlists. Thanks!

  2. It's funny, my wife HATES Hootie & The Blowfish, but LOVES this song. She likes Darius' new sound a lot. She didn't even believe me whan I told her this was the lead singer of Hootie.

Leave a Reply

