Devil Town

They’ve been playing the promo for Season 3 of “Friday Night Lights” on a pretty high rotation – if you’ve missed it you can check it out HERE. The song used in the promo “Devil Town” appears on the soundtrack which is pretty good I must say. I watched a bit of Season 1 of the show and really enjoyed it, probably a bit more than I enjoyed the Movie. This song is one of those haunting things that slowly builds up a following much like the man Daniel Johnston who penned and sang the original. Johnston is as odd as they come, blending a spooky dark theme into songs that are called “painfully direct.” Johnston seems to have that of a cult following because of this. I think the version from FNL is my favorite, but I do enjoy them all in their own unique ways.

Devil Town|Tony Lucca (from Friday Night Lights)
Devil Town|Daniel Johnston (original)
Devil Town|Bright Eyes

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

2 thoughts on “Devil Town”

  1. I actually watched a documentary on Daniel Johnston. He was quite a troubled individual due to his BiPolar Disorder. He nearly killed his father once, and was hospitalized a few times. I thought his music was interesting though. Some of it was inspired by a few of his love interests growing up. It’s kinda neat to see the way such a different individual viewed the world. The documentary was shown at the Sundance Film Festival in 2006 and is titled, “The Devil and Daniel Johnston”.

  2. I read about the film a couple of years ago (when I first started listening to/reading about Daniel Johnston) and it looked very interesting – I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

