The Hook Brings You Back


I’ve been listening to a bit of the old Dave Matthews Band stuff lately, in memory of LeRoi. It’s been making me pull out the stuff I was listening to a year ago, you know how one album leads you to another, the ones that worked so well together that takes you back to that time and place. I always loved that video by Blues Traveler for “Run-Around”, the mocking of the grunge “look” mixed with its OZ behind the curtain with the Dorothy character along for the ride. Even if MTV overplayed it to the point of exhaustion that year, I also like the follow up wanna be “Run-Around” Part 2 – “Hook”, I love those lyrics: “It doesn’t matter what I say – So long as I sing with inflection – That makes you feel that I’ll convey – Some inner truth of vast reflection.” About the same time I was going through Blues Travelers older albums there were a couple of singles that made it onto almost every playlist I made in the mid-90’s: “Sister Hazel”‘s “All For You” and “Rusted Root”‘s “Send Me On My Way”. All of these songs together take me back and remind me of those mix-tapes and road trips, the good and bad times and the soundtrack of that time.

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

Leave a Reply

