Olympic Commercials

Ok, so I’m a sucker for Olympic commercials. I have always loved the olympics and what they stand for, okay maybe what they should stand for, but I try and watch and I always appreciate those sappy stories of the mom that took her kid at 4 am every morning through the snow to the pool, blah blah blah, you know the stories, they tell a million of them every Olympics. This weekend I enjoyed watching some good Swimming events with some pretty cool come from behind wins for the U.S. I’m a sucker for come-from-behind wins from the underdogs anytime, not that it’s usually the U.S. – I’ll route for any underdog, unless it’s against the U.S. Basketball team, sorry, even if that does mean I have to route for Kobe. Speaking of this years Basketball team, I really enjoyed the great Marvin Gaye rendition of the Star-Spangled Banner used by Nike in this one:


I thought that was alot of fun. The other fun Nike commercial (the one “I got soul, but I’m not a soldier”.) I saw quite a bit of this weekend featured “All These Things That I’ve Done” by the Killers off of their first album “Hot Fuss” (2004) you can check out the commercial HERE.

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

2 thoughts on “Olympic Commercials”

  1. How about an entry about the new Star Wars animated movie coming out? How does it fit in? Do you want to see it?

  2. From what I've heard it's a bridge between Episode II & III. There is no Hayden Christiansen, Anakin is being voiced by another actor. The reviews (especially by the fanboys) have been very negative. There are two new Hutt characters that people hate worse than Jar-Jar (if that's possible). It looks pretty cool and I was looking forward to a fun cartoon break from the norm. There was a written bridge between V & VI (Shadows of the Empire) that had a game based on it and was a fun little read. I'm not into Star Wars books (fan fiction) but it's probably the best of that genre.

Leave a Reply

