Birthday Mix

Well, my dad is turning 60 next Saturday, but we’re doing the celebrating this weekend up at Bear Lake. I don’t think the lake is above 50 degrees, but it should be beautiful weather and it’s always fun to hang out with the fam. So, I made a mix for my dad. This is just a mix of songs that remind me of my dad, for whatever reason.

Cottonfields Back Home|Creedence Clearwater Revival
My dad loves CCR, and I learned early to enjoy the roots rock stylings of John Fogerty and the boys.
Love Will Keep Us Alive|Eagles
The same goes for the Eagles, and my pops favorite album is probably ‘Hell Freezes Over’
I Love A Rainy Night|Eddie Rabbit
We saw Eddie at the Arizona State Fair when I was a kid, not the whole concert, but we did catch this song that has always reminded me of Arizona rain – ahh the monsoons.
My Father’s Gun|Elton John
We were introduced to this song through the movie ‘Elizabethtown’ – which we both absolutely love, along with this song (thanks Cameron Crowe)
Copperline|James taylor
This is my dads all-time favorite song – he grew up in a small Copper mining town in Arizona, hmmm so did I.
I Got A Name|Jim Croce
Both me & my dad have our fathers name, and come on, it’s Jim Croce.
Rocky Mountain High|John Denver
John Denver was one we had on 8-track growing up, my dad a country boy if there ever was one.
Angel From Montgomery|John Prine
My dad & I neither one can get enough of this great song.
I Walk The Line|Johnny Cash
When my dad was a cop in the late 70’s-early 80’s he was the bodyguard for the man in black for a night at a concert out near where we lived. My dad walks the line.
Cool Change|Little River Band
Another of my dads favorite songs, I think this reminds him of his days near the beach, he loves the beach – Huntington is his favorite.
You’re My Best Friend|Queen
My dad really digs Queen, but then who doesn’t?
Man Of Constant Sorrow|Soggy Bottom Boys
Yet another movie we saw together when it came out, great movie, great song.
Ramblin’ Man|The Allman Brothers Band
With more jobs and more moves than anyone I know outside of the military, he’s definitely a Ramblin’ Man.
Heroes and Villains|The Beach Boys
First concert, my dad bought me tickets when I was 13 or 14.
Get Back|The Beatles
Every mix needs the Beatles, reminds me of how many road trips we’ve taken together.
Louie Louie|The Kingsmen
My first concert was the Beach Boys – that’s true, but the opening act? the Kingsmen.
Georgia On My Mind|Willie Nelson
I grew up hating Willie Nelson, one of my dads favorite albums was always Stardust, the older I get the better Willie sounds, strange.

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

3 thoughts on “Birthday Mix”

  1. I LOVE this!!! I need a CD – with the comments! How lucky I am to love the two of you! (Not so much all that music…)

  2. Hey, great music! Thanks, and I’ll download it to my Ipod. Your comments were too kind. Love you. You’re a great son.

Leave a Reply

