The Stranger

Well, as Dr. Cramster mentioned earlier this week – there is in fact a 30th Anniversary edition of the Stranger out on July 8th. In point of fact there are two versions being released.
There is a 2 CD set – the first being the original album (remastered by original producer Phil Ramone) and the second is a 1977 concert at Carnegie Hall. The concert was actually performed one month prior to the recording of the album and only includes two songs from “the Stranger” (Just the Way You Are & Scenes from an Italian Restaurant), the others are great songs from the earlier albums.
The second version is 3 CD’s and a DVD – this includes the two previously mentioned discs plus another Stranger era concert (no further description is included). The DVD is an appearance on “The Old Grey Whistle Test” Amazon says this:”Billy Joel made a special appearance on BBC2 television music show “The Old Grey Whistle Test” in early 1978 during the promotion for The Stranger album. The show is approximately 60 minutes and aired only once on BBC2. The Old Grey Whistle Test was an influential BBC2 television music show that ran from September 1971 to 1987. The Old Grey Whistle Test was also the template for what later became MTV.” Plus, they’ve included two promo videos – “The Stranger” & “Just The Way You Are”.
Just in case you’re worried – this ends my foray into Billy Joel blogging, at least for the time being, further delving into his carrier although there are some great songs, it’s mostly down hill. You decide, did video kill the radio star?

Vienna|Billy Joel
Only The Good Die Young|Billy Joel
She’s Always A Woman|Billy Joel

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

2 thoughts on “The Stranger”

  1. I’m pretty sure this is my favorite Billy Joel album (although it’s kind of hard to chose). I’m loloking forward to the new release, should be good.

  2. Must-own-CD/DVD set.

    The Stranger is my teenage depression album. I recall one weekend, must’ve been 1981 when I was 15, when I simply did not emerge from my bedroom. I stayed in bed, didn’t do anything at all, just sleep and stay under the duvet falling asleep again. Next to my bed was the turntable, and I just played that album over and over and over again. I think I might have put on 52nd Street and Songs In The Attic as well, but mostly it was The Stranger.

Leave a Reply

