Mercy

This song has been on heavy rotation on VH1 lately and I’m not opposed to it, in fact I really dig it, but ever since I first heard it it sounded really familiar, like I’ve heard it before. I really enjoy the fact that the Brits have been putting out some good soul the last few years – in a very cool retro modern sort of packaging that is both new and old at the same time. Duffy, this Welsh songstress, has an album out – Rockferry, and it’s worth checking out.

I have to say that it has an uncanny resemblance in my head, and it’s probably just the hook – and the baseline, to one of the covers (one of the greats is the Aretha Franklin version) from the soundtrack to the Commitments. This is an amazing soundtrack, so much so that there are two volumes. Irish group singing soul, so good, I can’t recommend these soundtracks enough. Listen to the song though, after watching the video, similar? or just my ears playing tricks on me?

Chain of Fools|The Commitments

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

2 thoughts on “Mercy”

  1. Enjoyed that Mercy song. With all of the guys dancing solo, it looks like it was at a national Photoshop conference or something.

Leave a Reply

