Last Man Standing

Ryan Shupe & the Rubberband is a band whose career I’ve been watching for some time now. John B. got me into them after going to a live gig of theirs in Provo. They are a local (Utah County) group that have since moved on to Nashville, but they still record and tour locally. There is an element of their first two independent releases that I find missing in their (now) two label releases, And I’m having a hard time putting my finger on what it is. Their last album Dream Big I really enjoy and the same goes with their brand new release – Last Man Standing. Don’t get me wrong, I still very much enjoy their near bluegrass neo-country – or whatever the kids are calling it these days. Maybe what I dislike is that this stuff is sounding more like what they play on Country Radio stations, not really my usual cup of tea, but like I said, it’s still very good. The new album takes off where ‘Dream Big’ left off and rocks a little harder, while still maintaining their ‘Banjo Boy’ roots. If you haven’t heard of them definitely try out the title track from ‘Dream Big’, and here are a few from last weeks release that rose to the top for me.

Be The One|Ryan Shupe & the Rubberband
All I Need|Ryan Shupe & the Rubberband
Corn Dogs|Ryan Shupe & the Rubberband

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

One thought on “Last Man Standing”

Leave a Reply

