Amazing Grace

If you’ve been looking for a wholesome, uplifting video to rent lately, then here’s one for you. Amazing Grace was Produced by the same group that did the movie “Ray” and the production is great in this movie. The acting also is superb: Ioan Gruffudd plays William Wilberforce the man who spearheaded the abolition of the slave trade in Great Britain. The cast also includes Rufus Sewell, Michael Gambon and Albert Finney as John Newton – the slave ship captain turned priest who penned the hymn “Amazing Grace”. I initially had thought the movie was going to be about John Newton and his story, but was pleasantly surprised to learn the story behind Wilberforce and his arduous battle. I highly recommend this film and it’s only PG mostly for some images of slavery.

I have always loved this song, and like many thought it was an American tune, but learning the story of its origin shows how much impact the theme within it really can have on people. I thought I’d post some of the songs diversity today, but how I hear this song in my head is usually on the bagpipes.

Amazing Grace|Sufjan Stevens
Amazing Grace|Johnny Cash
Amazing Grace|Charlotte Church
Amazing Grace|Boyz II Men

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

Leave a Reply

