Her mix tape’s a masterpiece

Ok, so it seems the cool new thing to do is to make yourself a mixtape.

Who doesn’t really enjoy thinking up the exact songs to fill up your 74 minutes of mixed wonderment? I know I do, maybe I’m alone in this, but it doesn’t seem so. In the last 24 hours I’ve seen posts on numerous blogs about how to make your mixtape online, or someone posting their said mixtape for all the world to hear, so much so that there are multiple sites where you can make your mix and “take it with you”. Here are your options:
Muxtape: Upload songs from your personal collection to create a playlist of music that you can listen to from any computer. Cool idea – well implemented. I made a playlist over there, just messing around with the program. you can click HERE to listen to it.
finetune: Here you can search for music that’s already online – so you don’t need to own the music – and create multiple playlists that you can listen to anywhere you go in the cyberworld. The other cool feature is that you can post a player of the playlist that you can put on your blog or whatever, my playlist seems to be glitchy, I’ll see if I can get that worked out.
Mixwit: Another search and create your own playlist for a mixtape site. I just came across this one and haven’t really messed with it much.

Rob: “The making of a great compilation tape, like breaking up, is hard to do and takes ages longer than it might seem. You gotta kick off with a killer, to grab attention. Then you got to take it up a notch, but you don’t wanna blow your wad, so then you got to cool it off a notch. There are a lot of rules. Anyway…”
(High Fidelity)

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

1 thought on “Her mix tape’s a masterpiece”

  1. Hey, left a comment earlier today for this post, but I don’t see it now — so sorry if this ends up being a duplicate…

    I love the finetune widget. Very cool. Thanks for the links.

Leave a Reply

