Butch & Sundance Score

Another LP I ripped digitally just the other day was the soundtrack of one of my all-time favorite movies. It has everything: Action, Comedy, Romance and although it doesn’t have the happiest ending in the world, I’ve loved this movie since I was a kid – and it only has improved with time and age. The dialogue in this movie is some of my favorite in that of any – ever, expertly delivered by Newman and Redford. I also love the integration of Burt Bacharach into the movie. I mean it’s a western and we’ve got Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head as Paul Newman rides around on a bicycle with Katherine Ross on board as well, perfect. My favorite part of this movie is the five minutes or so with no talking with the music and choir singing along in the background with the goings on of the film. This is one of my favorite bits of movie making, the music used instead of talking, even though there are converstions happening on screen, we don’t need them – the acting is good enough, the music is good enough, who needs talking during those five minutes (South American Getaway). Give it a listen and see if you recall what’s going on in the movie as you listen.

Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head|Burt Bacharach
South American Getaway|Burt Bacharach

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

Leave a Reply

