Christmas Mix 2007

Last year I posted a couple of mixes of Christmas stuff. One was a Happy Pirate Christmas Mix, which is full of mostly new songs – with a couple of new covers of old songs – that now is quite festive for me and puts me in the Christmas Mood, the other was a very Random Christmas Mix, I’ve put those songs back out there, so you can have a listen. I’m not sure I can go that long this year posting that much Christmas music again. For those of you just joining us, I posted almost exclusively Christmas music from the day after Thanksgiving last year until Christmas Day. I’ve been thinking about a mix of the old stuff. I highly recommend the album Croon & Swoon: The Classic Christmas. I picked this up back in about ’99 and it’s a great start for those of you who want a good mix of the old crooners singing the Christmas songs. There’s even a second volume if you dig that one. A second one is Lifetime Intimate Portraits: Christmas Belles, which is another great album that I blogged about last year HERE. (I borrowed from Croon & Belles most for this years’ mix – If you like them, you really should buy them.) I’ve found that when making “Traditional” Christmas mixes for people that this is a very subjective term. What is traditional to you? Is it the TV Christmas, the original songs by the orginal artists, Glenn Miller and his orchestra or the Muzak version without words in the grocery store? Well here’s my list. This is not the religious or modern christmas, but more of the Crooners and the Belles – the songs that make me think of old movies and sleigh rides, 8-tracks and vinyl. You can download the whole mix at the bottom and it all fits on one CD. I’ve also changed the playlist, so if you click the LISTEN TO THE MUSIC FROM THE PODCAST you can hear only the Christmas mixes (at least for December). It seems a bit early to say Merry Christmas.

Christmas Carousel|Peggy Lee
Christmas Time Is Here|Rosemary Clooney
Frosty The Snowman|Gene Autry
Happy Holidays|Bing Crosby
Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas|Judy Garland
Here Comes Santa Claus|Elvis Presley
Home For The Holidays|Perry Como
I’d Like You For Christmas|Julie London
I’ll Be Home For Christmas|Bing Crosby
It’s Beginning To Look Like Christmas|Bing Crosby
The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year|Andy Williams
Jingle Bells Cha Cha Cha|Pearl Bailey
Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!|Lena Horne
Marshmallow World|Johnny Mathis
Ole Santa|Dinah Washington
Papa Noel|Brenda Lee
Pine Cones and Holly Berries|the Osmond Family
Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree|Brenda Lee
Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer|Gene Autry
Santa Baby|Eartha Kitt
Santa Claus Is Coming To Town|Bing Crosby & the Andrews Sisters
Silver Bells|Doris Day
That’s What I Want For Christmas|Nancy Wilson
The Christmas Song|Mel Torme
The Christmas Waltz|Peggy Lee
Warm December|Julie London
We Need A Little Christmas|Angela Lansbury
White Christmas|Bing Crosby
Winter Wonderland|Johnny Mathis

Grab the whole album HERE.

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Mix 2007”

  1. How about some movie recommendations? I have not had any luck renting good movies lately? Bourne Ultimatum?

Leave a Reply

