August and Everything After

1993, fourteen years ago Counting Crows released their first album August and Everything After. I was out of the country washing my hair at the time, so I missed this albums release and didn’t become aware of the group until a couple of years alter when they released the single ‘Long December’ and it was then that I realized that this was the same group I had seen on MTV with their video ‘Mr. Jones’ and I immediately went and purchased both August… and ‘Recovering the Satellites’ at the same time, good day musically in my book. Today they are releasing a deluxe edition of the CD. It will feature the original album remastered with bonus tracks, as well as a bonus disc of a live show (the band’s last show on the ‘August’ tour, recorded at the Elysee Montmartre in Paris, France on December 9, 1994). This is a great album and I will have to purchase to listen to this show. I’ve posted a few acoustic versions of songs from August…, one of my very favorite albums.

Rolling Stone (5/13/99, p.58) – Included in Rolling Stone’s “Essential Recordings of the 90’s.”

Rolling Stone (10/28/93, p.76) – 4 Stars – Excellent – “…What’s most impressive about AUGUST AND EVERYTHING AFTER is how many such moments [of cinematic worlds] there are…”

Round Here (Piano Acoustic)|Counting Crows
Mr. Jones (Rare Acoustic)|Counting Crows
Anna Begins (Studio Acoustic)|Counting Crows
Rain King (Studio Acoustic)|Counting Crows

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

Leave a Reply

