Guess Who?

Lester Bangs: The Doors? Jim Morrison? He’s a drunken buffoon posing as a poet.
Alice Wisdom: I like the doors.
Lester Bangs: Give me The Guess Who. They got the courage to be drunken buffoons, which makes them poetic.

– from ‘Almost Famous’

I enjoy the Guess Who. You may be saying, “I don’t know who the Guess Who are.” Well, you’ve all heard American Woman a million times, so there you go. A classic rock song about American Women, sung by Canadians. A guy I used to work with got me into this group back around 99 and I’ll always be thankful. The group put out mainly from 62-75. In 70 One of the groups main composers left the group after converting to Mormonism and finding the lifestyle and backstage antics a bit much for his new direction. He co-formed and wrote with his new group Bachman-Turner Overdrive. Back to the GW – I thought we could all use a bit of their classic rock and this is a group that everyone should hear. Also, featured in the new movie ‘Superbad’ being sung by TV’s Arrested Developments “George Michael”.

These Eyes|The Guess Who
Laughing|The Guess Who
Undun|The Guess Who
No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature|The Guess Who

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

Leave a Reply

