Brush Up Your Shakespeare

Kenneth Branagh‘s 1996 version of Hamlet has finally made its way to DVD. This is by far my favorite version of this play. It comes in just over 4 hours, so it is a bit long. The cast is great, everybody. Kate Winslet, Brian Blessed, Julie Chritie, Billy Crystal, Robin Williams, Jack Lemmon, Charleton Heston and the list goes on. I’m a big fan of all of Branagh’s Shakespeare, and although I love this production of Hamlet, I still think Henry V is my favorite. It’s sort of a Man’s Shakespeare, you know you’ve got your war and action and killing and all that stuff – and the St. Cripsin’s Day speech is probably the best in all of the Bard’s work. (My opinion only).

This above all — to thine ownself be true;
And it must follow, as the night the day,
Thou canst not then be false to any man.

* Polonius to Laertes, Hamlet – scene iii

Here are a few songs I think about when thinking about Shakespeare:
Brush Up Your Shakespeare|Kiss Me Kate
Non nobis, Domine|Henry V
Hamlet|William Shatner

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

1 thought on “Brush Up Your Shakespeare”

  1. If you purchase this – please bring it and share…I won’t even throw the case away, or anything. P.S. I’m typing with gloves on so I don’t contaminate the computer – pretty strange experience!

Leave a Reply

