Who writes this?!?

Have you ever heard a song and immediately identified with it – words, music and all. There are some songs that just speak to you and it becomes yours, despite the actual meanings of the words or music. Art to me is when it you make something yours, emotionally, spiritually – whatever. There are some artists that speak to me more than other, possibly life experience or their view on life. What songs speak to you? Has there ever been a song where you listened to the lyrics and thought “I could have written that, maybe not quite as well, but those could be my words too.”?

Many of Ben Folds lyrics feel like he was writing about me, not him, or maybe we’re just alike. I know some artists write about things outside of their own realm of experience, but it happens more often than not with me and Ben. This song from the first time I heard it.
Narcolepsy – Ben Folds Five

Colin Hay is one that most people know but not by name, singer and lyricist of most Men at Work songs, he has since done alot of good acoustic stuff that most people haven’t gotten a chance to listen to – you should. This is one of my favorites by him.
Waiting For My Real Life To Begin – Colin Hay

This is the songs from which the title of the Blog is derived. This song is beautiful and to me it is a reminder: “It’s you and me ~ This love will open our world ~ From the dark side we can see the glow of something bright ~ There’s much more than we see here ~ Don’t burn the day away.” To me this song is about life and how there is so much here that we can do.
Pig – Dave Matthews Band

I’ve been meaning to blog about Jeff Buckley for quite some time. There are so many who have done so eloquently and I don’t really want to add much about him or his short life right now, but this song typifies his work and speaks to me and from what I gater many many other people. His version of the Leonard Cohen’s ‘Hallelujah’, albeit taken from a tribute to the same is made his own through his strained vocals mixed with his ethereal guitar playing, to me speak of love, not the typical love song as you can tell, but I’ll let it stand on its own.
Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley

Again, it’s Ben Folds. This is the b-side version with strings added. I love this song.
Landed – Ben Folds

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

1 thought on “Who writes this?!?”

  1. …glad to hear the song that inspired the blog title. I had wondered of the origin. A little sad – “all things end…” I don’t think so! But, then I tend to take lyrics too seriously.

Leave a Reply

