Music vs. Books


Ok, so reading another blog the other day and there was a post about books and songs that remind you of that book, and vice versa. It got me thinking about how in movies songs are so integral and you hear a song and it reminds you of the movie, usually played during the movie or at least its credits. What about books? are there songs that remind you of a book; or, is there a book that reminds you of a song? What are your thoughts? What are your favorite books or songs and is there a song that you associate with it?

This is the song that was posted about the book Songbook by Nick Hornby, which is basically a review of 31 favorite pop songs by the author. It’s great to read about the love of songs by another person, even when you are unfamiliar with the songs. The song is an old Beach Boys song about music. It’s a great tie-in. What do you think?
Add Some Music – the Beach Boys

This is the first one that came to my mind. The song is a great storytelling song about growing up and spending summers at Grandmas house. The book that it reminded me of was Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury. They both have that childhood summery goodness feeling.
Canned Goods – Greg Brown

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

6 thoughts on “Music vs. Books”

  1. Hey Stephen. Speaking of Ray Bradbury… Remember the afternoon we spent with him at the Maeser Bldg at BYU? You were in Jr High School. He spoke for his allotted 2 hours and noone wanted him to stop. The host told him that they had the building for the entire evening so if he wanted to go he could. We all cheered and he seemed to be enjoying himself so he talked for another hour or two. It was fantastic. What do remember about his talk?

  2. Songs sometimes remind us of periods of our lives, too. Maybe it was a favorite song when we were in high school or something. The song Copperline by James Taylor reminds me of growing up in the mining towns of Arizona. One of his other songs, Sweet Baby James, also reminds me of my childhood fantasies… the cowboy thing. Copperline… Great song. Several John Denver songs remind me of my summers up at Reynolds Creek at the old ranger station.

  3. Ray Bradbury turned 86 last tuesday speaking of him. I remember that lecture well. He talked about how he hated cars and looked to the future when we would have better mass transit in the U.S. such as monorails and cars that were computerized to drive themselves. That was when I had first begun reading Bradbury and enjoyed that day sharing that experience. I think that’s the year I first read ‘the Illustrated Man’ one of his short story collections that is probably still my favorite book of his.

  4. I actually have never even thought of listening to music while reading…I think it would be a great idea, but maybe I couldn’t – have to try.

  5. You had me listen to this before and I don’t LOVE it – but I can’t quite put my finger on it. I think it might be because it reminds me of that one song in Robin Hood (Disney)…….(at least I didn’t say “that one song from that one movie” like I usually do)

Leave a Reply

