Back to School


Ah, back to school time of year. It’s starting to get cooler in the mornings and the stores are full of too many mom’s and their reluctant children trying on backpacks and clothes for the coming year. I’ve listed my little playlist for the first day of school. I left off the Alice Cooper for obvious Reasons.

This song just sums up going back to school.
Back to School – a Modern Classic

Another Beach Boys, but it sounds more like a summer anthem, maybe going to school in Southern California does that to a person.
Be True to Your School – the Beach Boys

Here are two versions of this classic song. First is the Paul Simon version (Garfunkel just messes up this one) and then one with a little punk flair for fun.
Me & Julio Down by the Schoolyard – Paul Simon
Me & Julio Down by the Schoolyard – Me First and the Gimme Gimmes

Author: MusicalPirate

I am a digital media professional. I love photography, music, and design and pretty much all media.

2 thoughts on “Back to School”

  1. I hadn’t hear the Back to School on, but had heard the others (well, not the punk version).

    I love that I’m old. We did try to be true to our school – it was a big thing in the 60’s…letter sweaters, school clubs, bus trips, band uniforms. Brings back fun memories. Oh, there was bad stuff, but not so much.

  2. High School loyalty was a big thing in the 60’s. There were fights and all that if anyone said anything about you school.

    My high school letterman’s sweater had patches and medals hanging all over it – that was the big thing. Conference Champs, State Champs, your track medals and all that. My parents used to joke that I looked like a Christmastree. Of course my sweetie wore it every now and then for a week, but couldn’t live without it more than that. She wore the class ring all the time. Those were the good ole days when Brian Wilson wrote the song.

Leave a Reply

